Title sealed at OT: Manchester City crowned Premier League champions for third time in four years

May 11, 2021 0 Comments

Manchester City clinched a third Premier League title in four years, as their arch rivals Manchester United slipped up at home against Leicester City on Tuesday.

United were the closest rivals to City but it was a matter of time for Pep Guardiola and Co. Leicester defeated a much-changed United side 2-1 for a crucial win in their top four bid.

(More to follow)

Premier League champions

Club Wins Winning years
Manchester United 13 1992–93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2010–11, 2012–13
Chelsea 5 2004–05, 2005–06, 2009–10, 2014–15, 2016–17
Manchester City 5 2011–12, 2013–14, 2017–18, 2018–19, 2020-21
Arsenal 3 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04
Blackburn Rovers 1 1994–95
Leicester City 1 2015–16
Liverpool 1 2019–20

City hosted Thomas Tuchel’s side at the Etihad at 1630 GMT just three weeks before they meet again in European club football’s showpiece match, scheduled to be played in Istanbul on May 29. But a defeat in that match meant City had to wait for their celebrations.

City swept aside Paris Saint-Germain in the semi-finals of the Champions League to give Guardiola the opportunity to win the European crown for the third time as a manager after he won it twice with Barcelona in 2009 and 2011.

But he had insisted the Champions League final and the meeting in the Premier League on Saturday were not connected.

City moved to the brink of the title with victory over Crystal Palace last weekend. They could have been crowned champions on Sunday last week had second-placed Manchester United lost to Liverpool but that game was postponed after a protest by fans against United’s American owners.

Reaching the Champions League final for the first time is a huge moment in City’s history but their star manager had said retaining the Premier League after Liverpool interrupted his side’s title series last season was his prime focus.

“Always I’ve said the Premier League is the most important title,” he had said before the match against Chelsea.

“Financially for the club, qualification for the Champions League is the most important title, maybe, but there is no doubt what is the most important thing.

“Of course the Champions League is so special, it’s nice, but this one means consistency and many things.”

City beat Tottenham with an Aymeric Laporte header to lift the League Cup last month but Chelsea ended their hopes of an unprecedented quadruple by winning 1-0 in the FA Cup semi-final at Wembley.

List of Premier League champions

Year Champions Winning manager
1992–93 Manchester United   Alex Ferguson
1993–94 Manchester United   Alex Ferguson
1994–95 Blackburn Rovers   Kenny Dalglish
1995–96 Manchester United   Alex Ferguson
1996–97 Manchester United   Alex Ferguson
1997–98 Arsenal   Arsène Wenger
1998–99 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
1999–2000 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2000–01 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2001–02 Arsenal  Arsène Wenger
2002–03 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2003–04 Arsenal  Arsène Wenger
2004–05 Chelsea  José Mourinho
2005–06 Chelsea  José Mourinho
2006–07 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2007–08 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2008–09 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2009–10 Chelsea  Carlo Ancelotti
2010–11 Manchester United  Alex Ferguson
2011–12 Manchester City  Roberto Mancini
2012–13 Manchester United   Alex Ferguson
2013–14 Manchester City  Manuel Pellegrini
2014–15 Chelsea  José Mourinho
2015–16 Leicester City  Claudio Ranieri
2016–17 Chelsea  Antonio Conte
2017–18 Manchester City  Pep Guardiola
2018–19 Manchester City   Pep Guardiola
2019–20 Liverpool   Jürgen Klopp
2020-21 Manchester City Pep Guardiola

With AFP inputs


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *